Search Me!

Loading...

Current Giveaways

No current giveaways!

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Review: Rebel Heart by Moira Young


Rebel Heart (Dust Lands #2) by Moira Young
Publication Date: October 30th, 2012
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Page Count: 432 pages
Format: Finished Copy - Hardcover
Source: Publisher for review
Add to Goodreads
Nothing is certain and no one is safe in the second book in the highly praised Dust Lands trilogy, which MTV’s Hollywood Crush blog called “better than The Hunger Games.”

It seemed so simple: Defeat the Tonton, rescue her kidnapped brother, Lugh, and then order would be restored to Saba’s world. Simplicity, however, has proved to be elusive. Now, Saba and her family travel west, headed for a better life and a longed-for reunion with Jack. But the fight for Lugh’s freedom has unleashed a new power in the dust lands, and a formidable new enemy is on the rise.

What is the truth about Jack? And how far will Saba go to get what she wants? In this much-anticipated follow-up to the riveting Blood Red Road, a fierce heroine finds herself at the crossroads of danger and destiny, betrayal and passion.
I have been waiting for the sequel to Blood Red Road for what seems like an eternity. I absolutely adored the first book due to its originality and unique writing style, but Rebel Heart really did a number on my heart. Now that Saba has Lugh back, it's time to head home - without Jack. The emotional turmoil that Saba's going through is just heartbreaking, I couldn't help but feel so deeply for her. She's haunted by the memories of her recent past and only the prospect of finally settling down with Jack keeps her going. While I hated Lugh, Rebel Heart had my heart aching for Saba and I loved every emotional minute of it.

Saba is definitely a different character from Blood Red Road. The traumatic experiences she faced during her journey to rescue Lugh have changed her from fierce fighter to emotional wreck and I can't blame her. Don't get me wrong, she's still fierce, but she's got a lot more emotional baggage to carry around than she did before. And we finally get to see Lugh, who is just the worst person ever. I had to knock off a star because of him, he's so ungrateful and just a terrible person. I hated him. On more than one occasion he just says the worst kinds of things to Saba (who risked her life for him!!!!) and it made me wish she had just left him behind. Like, he is THE WORST. I definitely missed Jack *swoon* and I'm really hoping there will be more of him in the next book!!!

The writing style is the same as before, unique but difficult to get into. I think that's one of the qualities that people either love or hate about these books. There are no quotation marks, and it's written in an intense Southern dialect. I, personally, love it. Young is such a great story-teller you really feel like you're trekking through this desolate and wasted land with Saba and her crew. I was repeatedly immersed in the story, unable to put the book down for long periods of time. The plot moves so quickly and there are plenty of twists and turns to keep you on your toes.

Overall, I absolutely loved Rebel Heart. My one qualm would have to be Lugh's attitude throughout the book. He's such a sour puss and a jerk that I just couldn't get over anything he said or did. Perhaps that's a good thing though, to feel so intensely about a character that days after you're still thinking about it. The writing style is magnificent and the concept is original and entertaining, as always. I just can't wait to see what's in store next! Fans of The Hunger Games and True Grit will devour this one.

9 comments:

  1. oh wow, this Lugh person seems to be a pain in the butt. Saba sounds like a great character. I tried reading blood red road but like you said, it is either a love or hate kind of book because of the quotations and I just couldn't get into it. Shame.

    great review!!
    - Juhina @ Maji Bookshelf

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ugh yes, Lugh was an ass! I didn't like him at all in this one. And it was a really emotional book compared to BRR. I also love the writing and I never had a problem getting used to it even in the first book, and it definitely is the most polarizing aspect of this book. You either love it or you hate it. I think it makes the book SO atmospheric. It wouldn't be the same at all if it was written normally. Great review, Annapoo!! So happy we both like this series! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I didn't like the first book so I probably won't continue with this series but I'm glad you enjoyed the sequel. Nice review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I can't wait to read this book!! I loved Blood Red Road. It's too bad that Lugh is such an ass in this, but it really sounds like this book makes you have all the emotions!! Fab review babe!!

    ReplyDelete
  5. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I've been eyeing the first book for a long, long time. But it's never in any bookstores and I want the hardback. -_- Hardbacks are just so, so pretty, no? c(:

    I'm glad you enjoyed this book, despite the fact that Lugh was sour puss jerk. *laughs*

    Cheers for a good book and series.

    Kaede @ Wake Up at Seven

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love the writing style of these books, but like you, it takes me a few chapters to get used to it. Once I do though it is smooth sailing from there. I am a HUGE fan of this series.

    YES, YES, YES! LUGH can SUCK IT. And I did miss Jack, but I thought the story was strong enough to carry the book without his presence. Great review, Anna!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I haven't read Blood Red Road, so I didn't read your review for fear of spoilers! But...I've heard so many good things about this series that I must read it soon!

    Jennifer
    http://ya-sisterhood.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  9. I haven't read Blood Red Road and to be honest it hasn't been on my radar but you sold me.

    ReplyDelete

I read and enjoy all comments that are posted. Unfortunately, I may not have the time to respond. If I do respond, it will be through visiting your blog. If you ask a question, I will try to reply to it here so check back!

As of October 2011 this is an award free blog!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Share it

Disclaimer

According to FTC guidelines I must point out that all of the books that I review on my blog were either purchased by me or were given to me by the author/publisher. All words and opinions expressed are my own and I do not receive any monetary goods for writing reviews. I will state in my review which books I have received for review and which books I have purchased/borrowed. All images and synopsis are taken from Goodreads.com unless otherwise stated.
 
Blog Template by In Between Design Studio